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Embracing Constructive Feedback, Ignoring the Rest for 2024
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Embracing Constructive Feedback, Ignoring the Rest
How To Deal with YouTube Trolls and Negative Comments
Richard Bennett
Mar 27, 2024• Proven solutions
If you have put a lot of work into your YouTube videos then it only makes sense that you have an emotional investment in them. When someone leaves a mean, negative comment on one of your videos it will likely affect you. It may make you angry, hurt your feelings, or just leave you baffled over how someone could come away from your video with out-of-the-blue opinion the hater has posted. ‘Do not feed the trolls’ is a mantra that can be hard to abide by. This article will explain why you should not engage trolls and how to talk to them if you find yourself doing it anyways.
How to Deal with Negative Comments on YouTube
1. Identifying Trolls / When Is A Troll Not a Troll?
The internet is full of trolls and if you continue making YouTube videos – especially videos that get a lot of views – then you are sure to be attacked by a few. Or, alternatively, a troll may attack your other viewers in the comments of your videos. It is extremely easy to be a troll and so there are a lot of them.
Most trolls are easy to spot. They leave comments designed to hurt you or make you angry, often using over-the-top offensive language. Not all trolls are so obvious, though. Some trolls will be nice at first – flatteringly nice, even – and it will take a few comments before they turn on you or your subscribers. They want you to like them so you put more stock in what they are saying later and take longer to start ignoring them. Some trolls will even go back to being nice to reel you back in.
It is important to remember that not everybody who leaves negative comments on YouTube videos is a troll. Step back from your emotional reaction to a comment and make sure there is really nothing constructive in it before you dismiss it. Some people have nasty ways of expressing legitimate opinions, and sometimes even when there is no decipherable meaning behind a rude comment the person is not trying to troll you. Some people just have poor communication skills. For example, if someone leaves a comment on your video that consists of only the word ‘bad’ you cannot know for sure what they meant. It could be that they are agreeing with something you mentioned disliking in the video.
2. Why You Shouldn’t Talk To Trolls
Trolls are bored and looking for attention. When you respond, they win. You may think you are demonstrating to them that they were out of line, or logically proving them wrong, but the troll does not care. Your outraged responses are what trolls want and will only entertain them.
Also, trolls do not care if they are wrong. They almost always seem to think that their opinions are the only ones that count for anything, but quite often their opinions are not even their real opinions. Chances are they do not actually believe anything they are saying to you they just know what to say to make you mad. Remember that you will always be more invested in any interaction you have with a troll than they are. For them it is a game and they cannot lose because they do not really care. If you take the bait it’s fun, and if you do not then they will move on to a target that will. Even if you put hours of effort into chasing off a troll and manage to make them go away they will have enjoyed the whole thing and you will be left exhausted.
3. But If You Do…
While you should avoid talking to trolls, sometimes you cannot. Trolls occasionally start off making kind comments or asking legitimate questions to lure you in. You might be a couple comments into a conversation before a troll reveals their true colors.
There are also times when you respond even though you know you should not because you just cannot let a specific rude comment go unanswered. It is easy to say you should never feed the trolls, but a lot of people cannot help it. If you find yourself engaging a troll there are a few things you can do to try and manage the situation.
First, avoid using any emotional language; they love that. Keep your responses either pleasantly detached or dry and factual. Say what you feel you need to say and ask the troll for more information. If the troll has made a false claim then ask them for evidence as if you are genuinely interested in learning more. It is highly unlikely they will be able to provide any, although they may make something up. If the troll has made a blanket statement about how terrible they think you are then pretend you either value their input or find them funny and ask them to explain. They will either leave or respond with more insults.
You will not get the troll to say they were wrong or apologize so that should never be your goal. What you can do is create a public record of the troll being corrected for others to judge for themselves. If you maintain a calm, unaffected, tone then the troll will find you boring.
Richard Bennett
Richard Bennett is a writer and a lover of all things video.
Follow @Richard Bennett
Richard Bennett
Mar 27, 2024• Proven solutions
If you have put a lot of work into your YouTube videos then it only makes sense that you have an emotional investment in them. When someone leaves a mean, negative comment on one of your videos it will likely affect you. It may make you angry, hurt your feelings, or just leave you baffled over how someone could come away from your video with out-of-the-blue opinion the hater has posted. ‘Do not feed the trolls’ is a mantra that can be hard to abide by. This article will explain why you should not engage trolls and how to talk to them if you find yourself doing it anyways.
How to Deal with Negative Comments on YouTube
1. Identifying Trolls / When Is A Troll Not a Troll?
The internet is full of trolls and if you continue making YouTube videos – especially videos that get a lot of views – then you are sure to be attacked by a few. Or, alternatively, a troll may attack your other viewers in the comments of your videos. It is extremely easy to be a troll and so there are a lot of them.
Most trolls are easy to spot. They leave comments designed to hurt you or make you angry, often using over-the-top offensive language. Not all trolls are so obvious, though. Some trolls will be nice at first – flatteringly nice, even – and it will take a few comments before they turn on you or your subscribers. They want you to like them so you put more stock in what they are saying later and take longer to start ignoring them. Some trolls will even go back to being nice to reel you back in.
It is important to remember that not everybody who leaves negative comments on YouTube videos is a troll. Step back from your emotional reaction to a comment and make sure there is really nothing constructive in it before you dismiss it. Some people have nasty ways of expressing legitimate opinions, and sometimes even when there is no decipherable meaning behind a rude comment the person is not trying to troll you. Some people just have poor communication skills. For example, if someone leaves a comment on your video that consists of only the word ‘bad’ you cannot know for sure what they meant. It could be that they are agreeing with something you mentioned disliking in the video.
2. Why You Shouldn’t Talk To Trolls
Trolls are bored and looking for attention. When you respond, they win. You may think you are demonstrating to them that they were out of line, or logically proving them wrong, but the troll does not care. Your outraged responses are what trolls want and will only entertain them.
Also, trolls do not care if they are wrong. They almost always seem to think that their opinions are the only ones that count for anything, but quite often their opinions are not even their real opinions. Chances are they do not actually believe anything they are saying to you they just know what to say to make you mad. Remember that you will always be more invested in any interaction you have with a troll than they are. For them it is a game and they cannot lose because they do not really care. If you take the bait it’s fun, and if you do not then they will move on to a target that will. Even if you put hours of effort into chasing off a troll and manage to make them go away they will have enjoyed the whole thing and you will be left exhausted.
3. But If You Do…
While you should avoid talking to trolls, sometimes you cannot. Trolls occasionally start off making kind comments or asking legitimate questions to lure you in. You might be a couple comments into a conversation before a troll reveals their true colors.
There are also times when you respond even though you know you should not because you just cannot let a specific rude comment go unanswered. It is easy to say you should never feed the trolls, but a lot of people cannot help it. If you find yourself engaging a troll there are a few things you can do to try and manage the situation.
First, avoid using any emotional language; they love that. Keep your responses either pleasantly detached or dry and factual. Say what you feel you need to say and ask the troll for more information. If the troll has made a false claim then ask them for evidence as if you are genuinely interested in learning more. It is highly unlikely they will be able to provide any, although they may make something up. If the troll has made a blanket statement about how terrible they think you are then pretend you either value their input or find them funny and ask them to explain. They will either leave or respond with more insults.
You will not get the troll to say they were wrong or apologize so that should never be your goal. What you can do is create a public record of the troll being corrected for others to judge for themselves. If you maintain a calm, unaffected, tone then the troll will find you boring.
Richard Bennett
Richard Bennett is a writer and a lover of all things video.
Follow @Richard Bennett
Richard Bennett
Mar 27, 2024• Proven solutions
If you have put a lot of work into your YouTube videos then it only makes sense that you have an emotional investment in them. When someone leaves a mean, negative comment on one of your videos it will likely affect you. It may make you angry, hurt your feelings, or just leave you baffled over how someone could come away from your video with out-of-the-blue opinion the hater has posted. ‘Do not feed the trolls’ is a mantra that can be hard to abide by. This article will explain why you should not engage trolls and how to talk to them if you find yourself doing it anyways.
How to Deal with Negative Comments on YouTube
1. Identifying Trolls / When Is A Troll Not a Troll?
The internet is full of trolls and if you continue making YouTube videos – especially videos that get a lot of views – then you are sure to be attacked by a few. Or, alternatively, a troll may attack your other viewers in the comments of your videos. It is extremely easy to be a troll and so there are a lot of them.
Most trolls are easy to spot. They leave comments designed to hurt you or make you angry, often using over-the-top offensive language. Not all trolls are so obvious, though. Some trolls will be nice at first – flatteringly nice, even – and it will take a few comments before they turn on you or your subscribers. They want you to like them so you put more stock in what they are saying later and take longer to start ignoring them. Some trolls will even go back to being nice to reel you back in.
It is important to remember that not everybody who leaves negative comments on YouTube videos is a troll. Step back from your emotional reaction to a comment and make sure there is really nothing constructive in it before you dismiss it. Some people have nasty ways of expressing legitimate opinions, and sometimes even when there is no decipherable meaning behind a rude comment the person is not trying to troll you. Some people just have poor communication skills. For example, if someone leaves a comment on your video that consists of only the word ‘bad’ you cannot know for sure what they meant. It could be that they are agreeing with something you mentioned disliking in the video.
2. Why You Shouldn’t Talk To Trolls
Trolls are bored and looking for attention. When you respond, they win. You may think you are demonstrating to them that they were out of line, or logically proving them wrong, but the troll does not care. Your outraged responses are what trolls want and will only entertain them.
Also, trolls do not care if they are wrong. They almost always seem to think that their opinions are the only ones that count for anything, but quite often their opinions are not even their real opinions. Chances are they do not actually believe anything they are saying to you they just know what to say to make you mad. Remember that you will always be more invested in any interaction you have with a troll than they are. For them it is a game and they cannot lose because they do not really care. If you take the bait it’s fun, and if you do not then they will move on to a target that will. Even if you put hours of effort into chasing off a troll and manage to make them go away they will have enjoyed the whole thing and you will be left exhausted.
3. But If You Do…
While you should avoid talking to trolls, sometimes you cannot. Trolls occasionally start off making kind comments or asking legitimate questions to lure you in. You might be a couple comments into a conversation before a troll reveals their true colors.
There are also times when you respond even though you know you should not because you just cannot let a specific rude comment go unanswered. It is easy to say you should never feed the trolls, but a lot of people cannot help it. If you find yourself engaging a troll there are a few things you can do to try and manage the situation.
First, avoid using any emotional language; they love that. Keep your responses either pleasantly detached or dry and factual. Say what you feel you need to say and ask the troll for more information. If the troll has made a false claim then ask them for evidence as if you are genuinely interested in learning more. It is highly unlikely they will be able to provide any, although they may make something up. If the troll has made a blanket statement about how terrible they think you are then pretend you either value their input or find them funny and ask them to explain. They will either leave or respond with more insults.
You will not get the troll to say they were wrong or apologize so that should never be your goal. What you can do is create a public record of the troll being corrected for others to judge for themselves. If you maintain a calm, unaffected, tone then the troll will find you boring.
Richard Bennett
Richard Bennett is a writer and a lover of all things video.
Follow @Richard Bennett
Richard Bennett
Mar 27, 2024• Proven solutions
If you have put a lot of work into your YouTube videos then it only makes sense that you have an emotional investment in them. When someone leaves a mean, negative comment on one of your videos it will likely affect you. It may make you angry, hurt your feelings, or just leave you baffled over how someone could come away from your video with out-of-the-blue opinion the hater has posted. ‘Do not feed the trolls’ is a mantra that can be hard to abide by. This article will explain why you should not engage trolls and how to talk to them if you find yourself doing it anyways.
How to Deal with Negative Comments on YouTube
1. Identifying Trolls / When Is A Troll Not a Troll?
The internet is full of trolls and if you continue making YouTube videos – especially videos that get a lot of views – then you are sure to be attacked by a few. Or, alternatively, a troll may attack your other viewers in the comments of your videos. It is extremely easy to be a troll and so there are a lot of them.
Most trolls are easy to spot. They leave comments designed to hurt you or make you angry, often using over-the-top offensive language. Not all trolls are so obvious, though. Some trolls will be nice at first – flatteringly nice, even – and it will take a few comments before they turn on you or your subscribers. They want you to like them so you put more stock in what they are saying later and take longer to start ignoring them. Some trolls will even go back to being nice to reel you back in.
It is important to remember that not everybody who leaves negative comments on YouTube videos is a troll. Step back from your emotional reaction to a comment and make sure there is really nothing constructive in it before you dismiss it. Some people have nasty ways of expressing legitimate opinions, and sometimes even when there is no decipherable meaning behind a rude comment the person is not trying to troll you. Some people just have poor communication skills. For example, if someone leaves a comment on your video that consists of only the word ‘bad’ you cannot know for sure what they meant. It could be that they are agreeing with something you mentioned disliking in the video.
2. Why You Shouldn’t Talk To Trolls
Trolls are bored and looking for attention. When you respond, they win. You may think you are demonstrating to them that they were out of line, or logically proving them wrong, but the troll does not care. Your outraged responses are what trolls want and will only entertain them.
Also, trolls do not care if they are wrong. They almost always seem to think that their opinions are the only ones that count for anything, but quite often their opinions are not even their real opinions. Chances are they do not actually believe anything they are saying to you they just know what to say to make you mad. Remember that you will always be more invested in any interaction you have with a troll than they are. For them it is a game and they cannot lose because they do not really care. If you take the bait it’s fun, and if you do not then they will move on to a target that will. Even if you put hours of effort into chasing off a troll and manage to make them go away they will have enjoyed the whole thing and you will be left exhausted.
3. But If You Do…
While you should avoid talking to trolls, sometimes you cannot. Trolls occasionally start off making kind comments or asking legitimate questions to lure you in. You might be a couple comments into a conversation before a troll reveals their true colors.
There are also times when you respond even though you know you should not because you just cannot let a specific rude comment go unanswered. It is easy to say you should never feed the trolls, but a lot of people cannot help it. If you find yourself engaging a troll there are a few things you can do to try and manage the situation.
First, avoid using any emotional language; they love that. Keep your responses either pleasantly detached or dry and factual. Say what you feel you need to say and ask the troll for more information. If the troll has made a false claim then ask them for evidence as if you are genuinely interested in learning more. It is highly unlikely they will be able to provide any, although they may make something up. If the troll has made a blanket statement about how terrible they think you are then pretend you either value their input or find them funny and ask them to explain. They will either leave or respond with more insults.
You will not get the troll to say they were wrong or apologize so that should never be your goal. What you can do is create a public record of the troll being corrected for others to judge for themselves. If you maintain a calm, unaffected, tone then the troll will find you boring.
Richard Bennett
Richard Bennett is a writer and a lover of all things video.
Follow @Richard Bennett
Online Income Analysis for YouTube Stars
Free YouTube Money Calculators-Calculate YouTube Money
Shanoon Cox
Mar 27, 2024• Proven solutions
Most YouTubers get started simply because they love to make videos, to be the center of attention, and to have such a creative outlet for their ideas. However, for almost all YouTubers, their mind will soon turn to whether they can make money from YouTube , and how much they could be making.
If you’re curious about how much money you could make from your channel, or just want to see what the potential is for creating a revenue stream once you’ve built your audience, we’ve got just the thing for you. We’ve developed this YouTube Money Calculator, a simple tool that lets you see at a glance how much you could be earning from your videos and channel. And we will also introduce some YouTube Money Calculator alternatives to you.
Table of Content:
- Part 1: What is a CPM and How Do YouTube Money Calculators Average It Out?
- Part 2: The Free YouTube Money Calculator
- Part 3: Free YouTube Money Calculator Alternatives
- Part 4: How is YouTube Partner Money Calculated?
- Part 5: How to Join the YouTube Partner Platform
- Part 6: Making Money on YouTube
You May Also Like: YouTube SEO Complete Guide
Let’s take a look at the YouTube Money Calculator now and explore your potential for generating income from your passion for YouTube.
Part 1: What’s a CPM and How Do YouTube Money Calculators Average It Out?
CPM stands for ‘cost per mille/thousand’ and is the price of a thousand ad impressions (to the advertiser. For the creator, this is the amount of money they make per thousand ad impressions).
YouTube calculators will never be able to know the CPM for a YouTube channel as the rates vary for different channels and different ads. Disclosing your CPM is against the rules, so there’s not a lot of information out there to go on.
However, by taking an average of some of the current CPM rates from advertisers on YouTube, calculators are able to average out what a YouTube channel could be making. Keep in mind that, usually, the numbers that they use can be a bit on the high side compared to actual earnings. At times, though, these calculators can be very close.
Part 2: The Free YouTube Money Calculator
The YouTube Money Calculator is a free calculator tool that allows you to estimate the money obtained from any YouTube video. Calculations are entirely based on the number of views and an average CPM of $2 - $5. A user just needs to insert the total number of video views that they think they can get or that another channel has to discover how much a person could earn or be earning.
If you don’t know your CPM yet, don’t worry because our tool can give you an estimated revenue calculation based on a commonly accepted range of CPM figures for your views. Using this number, the YouTube Money Calculator can give you potential revenue by video as well as by channel on a daily, monthly, and yearly basis. Let’s take a look:
1. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Videos
To use YouTube Money Calculator to get an estimated calculation of your revenue for a single video, simply set the number of views you get per day (or hope to get) and the CPM rates. If you don’t know your CPM, the tool will automatically select a typical range based on the number of views.
From here you can start to play around and see what the impact could be of a different number of views and different CPM range. Do keep in mind that these figures are estimated, and there are many factors that come into play to determine your final CPM rate.
If you want to go deeper into your research and discover how much revenue a specific video could make, you can simply paste in the URL of the video you want to investigate, and the YouTube Money Calculator will show you the results. These will be presented as the number of total video views as well as the estimated earnings for that video based on typical CPM rates, making it a great resource to establish whether to monetize a video or not.
2. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Channel
If you’d like a more complete view of your YouTube earnings potential, why not investigate the revenue possibilities for the whole channel? Simply paste your channel link into the box and our tool will estimate how much you could be earning if you monetize that channel.
As well as showing this, the tool will show all sorts of other useful information such as number of total views, number of subscribers, number of uploaded videos and even your country and category. It’s a great place to start to evaluate your efforts and to get a realistic idea of what your earnings could be.
Part 3: Free YouTube Money Calculator Alternatives
Some of the best YouTube Money Calculator alternatives available are:
1. How Social Blade Calculates YouTube Money
Social Blade delivers a calculation based on a CPM rate between .25 cents and $4 USD. Users need only type in the name of the channel they are interested in and Social Blade will deliver all kinds of information about that channel, like how many subscribers and views it received in the last 30 days. It will also include estimates of monthly and yearly earnings. The revenue results are adjusted based off of the overall size of the channel and the total number of views that they receive each day. You can even scroll down for estimates of daily earnings listed by date.
2. How Influencer Marketing Hub Calculates YouTube Money
Influencer Marketing Hub is almost like an active infographic that allows a user to very quickly adjust sliders based on the daily video views, active engagement, views per month, and views per year.
Part 4: How is YouTube Partner Money Calculated?
YouTube partner money is calculated using something called the CPM. Your CPM, if you’re new to YouTube and partner advertising, is likely to be quite low, but can be built up over time.
CPM is actually a term for advertisers rather than content creators, as it denotes the amount an advertiser pays to serve its ad to 1,000 views of a video. What you really want to know is your RPM, or revenue per thousand, which is about how much you’ll get paid for 1,000 views of that ad. In the YouTube world, they call this number eCPM which stands for effective CPM, and if you have access to YouTube analytics, you’ll be able to find it under the estimated monetized playbacks metric.
If you don’t have YouTube Analytics, you can estimate your eCPM by dividing your most recent earnings by the number of monetized views and then multiplying by 1,000. For example, if you got 10,000 views of a video and earned $30, then your CPM would be $3.
There are a number of factors that affect what your CPM is, including what category it’s in, what the season is (e.g. Christmas, Halloween), what language you speak, which country you’re from, how much competition there is and much more. As an average, most advertisers are paying in the region of $7.60 per 1,000 impressions, although this can be as high as $15 or as low as $0.10.
But that’s not the whole story.
Of course, YouTube needs to make money too, so don’t expect to see all of that $7.60 popped into your AdSense account. Google keeps 45 percent of all YouTube advertising revenue, so you’ll get the other 55 per cent. If you were earning that average $7.60, your actual earnings would be $4.18 per 1,000 views.
As your subscriber numbers rise and your daily views rise, so will your CPM, so don’t get disheartened if you’ve discovered you’re on $2 or worse. Keep plugging away and building your fan base, and you’ll get there in the end.
It’s important to realize that, for most new channels, they’ll need to post videos for around two years before they start earning anything significant. If you’re just getting started on YouTube, find your niche and make sure it’s one that advertisers care about. Get it right, and you’ll have a highly targeted audience base which advertisers are willing to pay good money to use.
Part 5: How to Join the YouTube Partner Platform
If you’ve had a go with the YouTube money calculator and are excited about the potential to make money from YouTube, the next thing you’ll need to do is to sign up for the partner program. Here’s how:
* **Find out if you qualify**: You'll need to be 18 or over and to have had at least 4,000 views on your channel and 1,000 subscribers in the past 12 months
* **Enable monetization on your account**: Sign in, select 'creator studio', then go to Channel > Status features. Look for the tab for Monetization and click to enable.
* **Agree to the terms**: Once you've read and agreed to them, click accept
* **Choose monetizing options**: Pick from overlay in the video, TrueView in-stream ads or video contains product placement. You can always change this later.
* **Confirm enrolment**: Click 'monetize my videos' to confirm enrolment
Once you’ve done all that, YouTube will review your application and decide if you can join the program. Usually, this happens within a matter of seconds, generating confirmation via email. Your account will now have ‘Partner Verified’ on it, and your chosen ads will start being displayed immediately.
Part 6: Making Money on YouTube
We’ve all been seduced by the big hitters on YouTube, from PewDiePie to Lilly Singh, and have imagined that we’ll be the next YouTube millionaire. However, the reality is that 99 per cent of those on YouTube are earning peanuts for the effort they put into their channels from these advertising streams.
However, there are other ways to make money on YouTube. It makes sense not to put all your eggs in one basket, so alongside ads and growing your fanbase, we’ve come up with a number of other ways to monetize your YouTube channel and estimate how much your video can make.
Shanoon Cox
Shanoon Cox is a writer and a lover of all things video.
Follow @Shanoon Cox
Shanoon Cox
Mar 27, 2024• Proven solutions
Most YouTubers get started simply because they love to make videos, to be the center of attention, and to have such a creative outlet for their ideas. However, for almost all YouTubers, their mind will soon turn to whether they can make money from YouTube , and how much they could be making.
If you’re curious about how much money you could make from your channel, or just want to see what the potential is for creating a revenue stream once you’ve built your audience, we’ve got just the thing for you. We’ve developed this YouTube Money Calculator, a simple tool that lets you see at a glance how much you could be earning from your videos and channel. And we will also introduce some YouTube Money Calculator alternatives to you.
Table of Content:
- Part 1: What is a CPM and How Do YouTube Money Calculators Average It Out?
- Part 2: The Free YouTube Money Calculator
- Part 3: Free YouTube Money Calculator Alternatives
- Part 4: How is YouTube Partner Money Calculated?
- Part 5: How to Join the YouTube Partner Platform
- Part 6: Making Money on YouTube
You May Also Like: YouTube SEO Complete Guide
Let’s take a look at the YouTube Money Calculator now and explore your potential for generating income from your passion for YouTube.
Part 1: What’s a CPM and How Do YouTube Money Calculators Average It Out?
CPM stands for ‘cost per mille/thousand’ and is the price of a thousand ad impressions (to the advertiser. For the creator, this is the amount of money they make per thousand ad impressions).
YouTube calculators will never be able to know the CPM for a YouTube channel as the rates vary for different channels and different ads. Disclosing your CPM is against the rules, so there’s not a lot of information out there to go on.
However, by taking an average of some of the current CPM rates from advertisers on YouTube, calculators are able to average out what a YouTube channel could be making. Keep in mind that, usually, the numbers that they use can be a bit on the high side compared to actual earnings. At times, though, these calculators can be very close.
Part 2: The Free YouTube Money Calculator
The YouTube Money Calculator is a free calculator tool that allows you to estimate the money obtained from any YouTube video. Calculations are entirely based on the number of views and an average CPM of $2 - $5. A user just needs to insert the total number of video views that they think they can get or that another channel has to discover how much a person could earn or be earning.
If you don’t know your CPM yet, don’t worry because our tool can give you an estimated revenue calculation based on a commonly accepted range of CPM figures for your views. Using this number, the YouTube Money Calculator can give you potential revenue by video as well as by channel on a daily, monthly, and yearly basis. Let’s take a look:
1. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Videos
To use YouTube Money Calculator to get an estimated calculation of your revenue for a single video, simply set the number of views you get per day (or hope to get) and the CPM rates. If you don’t know your CPM, the tool will automatically select a typical range based on the number of views.
From here you can start to play around and see what the impact could be of a different number of views and different CPM range. Do keep in mind that these figures are estimated, and there are many factors that come into play to determine your final CPM rate.
If you want to go deeper into your research and discover how much revenue a specific video could make, you can simply paste in the URL of the video you want to investigate, and the YouTube Money Calculator will show you the results. These will be presented as the number of total video views as well as the estimated earnings for that video based on typical CPM rates, making it a great resource to establish whether to monetize a video or not.
2. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Channel
If you’d like a more complete view of your YouTube earnings potential, why not investigate the revenue possibilities for the whole channel? Simply paste your channel link into the box and our tool will estimate how much you could be earning if you monetize that channel.
As well as showing this, the tool will show all sorts of other useful information such as number of total views, number of subscribers, number of uploaded videos and even your country and category. It’s a great place to start to evaluate your efforts and to get a realistic idea of what your earnings could be.
Part 3: Free YouTube Money Calculator Alternatives
Some of the best YouTube Money Calculator alternatives available are:
1. How Social Blade Calculates YouTube Money
Social Blade delivers a calculation based on a CPM rate between .25 cents and $4 USD. Users need only type in the name of the channel they are interested in and Social Blade will deliver all kinds of information about that channel, like how many subscribers and views it received in the last 30 days. It will also include estimates of monthly and yearly earnings. The revenue results are adjusted based off of the overall size of the channel and the total number of views that they receive each day. You can even scroll down for estimates of daily earnings listed by date.
2. How Influencer Marketing Hub Calculates YouTube Money
Influencer Marketing Hub is almost like an active infographic that allows a user to very quickly adjust sliders based on the daily video views, active engagement, views per month, and views per year.
Part 4: How is YouTube Partner Money Calculated?
YouTube partner money is calculated using something called the CPM. Your CPM, if you’re new to YouTube and partner advertising, is likely to be quite low, but can be built up over time.
CPM is actually a term for advertisers rather than content creators, as it denotes the amount an advertiser pays to serve its ad to 1,000 views of a video. What you really want to know is your RPM, or revenue per thousand, which is about how much you’ll get paid for 1,000 views of that ad. In the YouTube world, they call this number eCPM which stands for effective CPM, and if you have access to YouTube analytics, you’ll be able to find it under the estimated monetized playbacks metric.
If you don’t have YouTube Analytics, you can estimate your eCPM by dividing your most recent earnings by the number of monetized views and then multiplying by 1,000. For example, if you got 10,000 views of a video and earned $30, then your CPM would be $3.
There are a number of factors that affect what your CPM is, including what category it’s in, what the season is (e.g. Christmas, Halloween), what language you speak, which country you’re from, how much competition there is and much more. As an average, most advertisers are paying in the region of $7.60 per 1,000 impressions, although this can be as high as $15 or as low as $0.10.
But that’s not the whole story.
Of course, YouTube needs to make money too, so don’t expect to see all of that $7.60 popped into your AdSense account. Google keeps 45 percent of all YouTube advertising revenue, so you’ll get the other 55 per cent. If you were earning that average $7.60, your actual earnings would be $4.18 per 1,000 views.
As your subscriber numbers rise and your daily views rise, so will your CPM, so don’t get disheartened if you’ve discovered you’re on $2 or worse. Keep plugging away and building your fan base, and you’ll get there in the end.
It’s important to realize that, for most new channels, they’ll need to post videos for around two years before they start earning anything significant. If you’re just getting started on YouTube, find your niche and make sure it’s one that advertisers care about. Get it right, and you’ll have a highly targeted audience base which advertisers are willing to pay good money to use.
Part 5: How to Join the YouTube Partner Platform
If you’ve had a go with the YouTube money calculator and are excited about the potential to make money from YouTube, the next thing you’ll need to do is to sign up for the partner program. Here’s how:
* **Find out if you qualify**: You'll need to be 18 or over and to have had at least 4,000 views on your channel and 1,000 subscribers in the past 12 months
* **Enable monetization on your account**: Sign in, select 'creator studio', then go to Channel > Status features. Look for the tab for Monetization and click to enable.
* **Agree to the terms**: Once you've read and agreed to them, click accept
* **Choose monetizing options**: Pick from overlay in the video, TrueView in-stream ads or video contains product placement. You can always change this later.
* **Confirm enrolment**: Click 'monetize my videos' to confirm enrolment
Once you’ve done all that, YouTube will review your application and decide if you can join the program. Usually, this happens within a matter of seconds, generating confirmation via email. Your account will now have ‘Partner Verified’ on it, and your chosen ads will start being displayed immediately.
Part 6: Making Money on YouTube
We’ve all been seduced by the big hitters on YouTube, from PewDiePie to Lilly Singh, and have imagined that we’ll be the next YouTube millionaire. However, the reality is that 99 per cent of those on YouTube are earning peanuts for the effort they put into their channels from these advertising streams.
However, there are other ways to make money on YouTube. It makes sense not to put all your eggs in one basket, so alongside ads and growing your fanbase, we’ve come up with a number of other ways to monetize your YouTube channel and estimate how much your video can make.
Shanoon Cox
Shanoon Cox is a writer and a lover of all things video.
Follow @Shanoon Cox
Shanoon Cox
Mar 27, 2024• Proven solutions
Most YouTubers get started simply because they love to make videos, to be the center of attention, and to have such a creative outlet for their ideas. However, for almost all YouTubers, their mind will soon turn to whether they can make money from YouTube , and how much they could be making.
If you’re curious about how much money you could make from your channel, or just want to see what the potential is for creating a revenue stream once you’ve built your audience, we’ve got just the thing for you. We’ve developed this YouTube Money Calculator, a simple tool that lets you see at a glance how much you could be earning from your videos and channel. And we will also introduce some YouTube Money Calculator alternatives to you.
Table of Content:
- Part 1: What is a CPM and How Do YouTube Money Calculators Average It Out?
- Part 2: The Free YouTube Money Calculator
- Part 3: Free YouTube Money Calculator Alternatives
- Part 4: How is YouTube Partner Money Calculated?
- Part 5: How to Join the YouTube Partner Platform
- Part 6: Making Money on YouTube
You May Also Like: YouTube SEO Complete Guide
Let’s take a look at the YouTube Money Calculator now and explore your potential for generating income from your passion for YouTube.
Part 1: What’s a CPM and How Do YouTube Money Calculators Average It Out?
CPM stands for ‘cost per mille/thousand’ and is the price of a thousand ad impressions (to the advertiser. For the creator, this is the amount of money they make per thousand ad impressions).
YouTube calculators will never be able to know the CPM for a YouTube channel as the rates vary for different channels and different ads. Disclosing your CPM is against the rules, so there’s not a lot of information out there to go on.
However, by taking an average of some of the current CPM rates from advertisers on YouTube, calculators are able to average out what a YouTube channel could be making. Keep in mind that, usually, the numbers that they use can be a bit on the high side compared to actual earnings. At times, though, these calculators can be very close.
Part 2: The Free YouTube Money Calculator
The YouTube Money Calculator is a free calculator tool that allows you to estimate the money obtained from any YouTube video. Calculations are entirely based on the number of views and an average CPM of $2 - $5. A user just needs to insert the total number of video views that they think they can get or that another channel has to discover how much a person could earn or be earning.
If you don’t know your CPM yet, don’t worry because our tool can give you an estimated revenue calculation based on a commonly accepted range of CPM figures for your views. Using this number, the YouTube Money Calculator can give you potential revenue by video as well as by channel on a daily, monthly, and yearly basis. Let’s take a look:
1. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Videos
To use YouTube Money Calculator to get an estimated calculation of your revenue for a single video, simply set the number of views you get per day (or hope to get) and the CPM rates. If you don’t know your CPM, the tool will automatically select a typical range based on the number of views.
From here you can start to play around and see what the impact could be of a different number of views and different CPM range. Do keep in mind that these figures are estimated, and there are many factors that come into play to determine your final CPM rate.
If you want to go deeper into your research and discover how much revenue a specific video could make, you can simply paste in the URL of the video you want to investigate, and the YouTube Money Calculator will show you the results. These will be presented as the number of total video views as well as the estimated earnings for that video based on typical CPM rates, making it a great resource to establish whether to monetize a video or not.
2. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Channel
If you’d like a more complete view of your YouTube earnings potential, why not investigate the revenue possibilities for the whole channel? Simply paste your channel link into the box and our tool will estimate how much you could be earning if you monetize that channel.
As well as showing this, the tool will show all sorts of other useful information such as number of total views, number of subscribers, number of uploaded videos and even your country and category. It’s a great place to start to evaluate your efforts and to get a realistic idea of what your earnings could be.
Part 3: Free YouTube Money Calculator Alternatives
Some of the best YouTube Money Calculator alternatives available are:
1. How Social Blade Calculates YouTube Money
Social Blade delivers a calculation based on a CPM rate between .25 cents and $4 USD. Users need only type in the name of the channel they are interested in and Social Blade will deliver all kinds of information about that channel, like how many subscribers and views it received in the last 30 days. It will also include estimates of monthly and yearly earnings. The revenue results are adjusted based off of the overall size of the channel and the total number of views that they receive each day. You can even scroll down for estimates of daily earnings listed by date.
2. How Influencer Marketing Hub Calculates YouTube Money
Influencer Marketing Hub is almost like an active infographic that allows a user to very quickly adjust sliders based on the daily video views, active engagement, views per month, and views per year.
Part 4: How is YouTube Partner Money Calculated?
YouTube partner money is calculated using something called the CPM. Your CPM, if you’re new to YouTube and partner advertising, is likely to be quite low, but can be built up over time.
CPM is actually a term for advertisers rather than content creators, as it denotes the amount an advertiser pays to serve its ad to 1,000 views of a video. What you really want to know is your RPM, or revenue per thousand, which is about how much you’ll get paid for 1,000 views of that ad. In the YouTube world, they call this number eCPM which stands for effective CPM, and if you have access to YouTube analytics, you’ll be able to find it under the estimated monetized playbacks metric.
If you don’t have YouTube Analytics, you can estimate your eCPM by dividing your most recent earnings by the number of monetized views and then multiplying by 1,000. For example, if you got 10,000 views of a video and earned $30, then your CPM would be $3.
There are a number of factors that affect what your CPM is, including what category it’s in, what the season is (e.g. Christmas, Halloween), what language you speak, which country you’re from, how much competition there is and much more. As an average, most advertisers are paying in the region of $7.60 per 1,000 impressions, although this can be as high as $15 or as low as $0.10.
But that’s not the whole story.
Of course, YouTube needs to make money too, so don’t expect to see all of that $7.60 popped into your AdSense account. Google keeps 45 percent of all YouTube advertising revenue, so you’ll get the other 55 per cent. If you were earning that average $7.60, your actual earnings would be $4.18 per 1,000 views.
As your subscriber numbers rise and your daily views rise, so will your CPM, so don’t get disheartened if you’ve discovered you’re on $2 or worse. Keep plugging away and building your fan base, and you’ll get there in the end.
It’s important to realize that, for most new channels, they’ll need to post videos for around two years before they start earning anything significant. If you’re just getting started on YouTube, find your niche and make sure it’s one that advertisers care about. Get it right, and you’ll have a highly targeted audience base which advertisers are willing to pay good money to use.
Part 5: How to Join the YouTube Partner Platform
If you’ve had a go with the YouTube money calculator and are excited about the potential to make money from YouTube, the next thing you’ll need to do is to sign up for the partner program. Here’s how:
* **Find out if you qualify**: You'll need to be 18 or over and to have had at least 4,000 views on your channel and 1,000 subscribers in the past 12 months
* **Enable monetization on your account**: Sign in, select 'creator studio', then go to Channel > Status features. Look for the tab for Monetization and click to enable.
* **Agree to the terms**: Once you've read and agreed to them, click accept
* **Choose monetizing options**: Pick from overlay in the video, TrueView in-stream ads or video contains product placement. You can always change this later.
* **Confirm enrolment**: Click 'monetize my videos' to confirm enrolment
Once you’ve done all that, YouTube will review your application and decide if you can join the program. Usually, this happens within a matter of seconds, generating confirmation via email. Your account will now have ‘Partner Verified’ on it, and your chosen ads will start being displayed immediately.
Part 6: Making Money on YouTube
We’ve all been seduced by the big hitters on YouTube, from PewDiePie to Lilly Singh, and have imagined that we’ll be the next YouTube millionaire. However, the reality is that 99 per cent of those on YouTube are earning peanuts for the effort they put into their channels from these advertising streams.
However, there are other ways to make money on YouTube. It makes sense not to put all your eggs in one basket, so alongside ads and growing your fanbase, we’ve come up with a number of other ways to monetize your YouTube channel and estimate how much your video can make.
Shanoon Cox
Shanoon Cox is a writer and a lover of all things video.
Follow @Shanoon Cox
Shanoon Cox
Mar 27, 2024• Proven solutions
Most YouTubers get started simply because they love to make videos, to be the center of attention, and to have such a creative outlet for their ideas. However, for almost all YouTubers, their mind will soon turn to whether they can make money from YouTube , and how much they could be making.
If you’re curious about how much money you could make from your channel, or just want to see what the potential is for creating a revenue stream once you’ve built your audience, we’ve got just the thing for you. We’ve developed this YouTube Money Calculator, a simple tool that lets you see at a glance how much you could be earning from your videos and channel. And we will also introduce some YouTube Money Calculator alternatives to you.
Table of Content:
- Part 1: What is a CPM and How Do YouTube Money Calculators Average It Out?
- Part 2: The Free YouTube Money Calculator
- Part 3: Free YouTube Money Calculator Alternatives
- Part 4: How is YouTube Partner Money Calculated?
- Part 5: How to Join the YouTube Partner Platform
- Part 6: Making Money on YouTube
You May Also Like: YouTube SEO Complete Guide
Let’s take a look at the YouTube Money Calculator now and explore your potential for generating income from your passion for YouTube.
Part 1: What’s a CPM and How Do YouTube Money Calculators Average It Out?
CPM stands for ‘cost per mille/thousand’ and is the price of a thousand ad impressions (to the advertiser. For the creator, this is the amount of money they make per thousand ad impressions).
YouTube calculators will never be able to know the CPM for a YouTube channel as the rates vary for different channels and different ads. Disclosing your CPM is against the rules, so there’s not a lot of information out there to go on.
However, by taking an average of some of the current CPM rates from advertisers on YouTube, calculators are able to average out what a YouTube channel could be making. Keep in mind that, usually, the numbers that they use can be a bit on the high side compared to actual earnings. At times, though, these calculators can be very close.
Part 2: The Free YouTube Money Calculator
The YouTube Money Calculator is a free calculator tool that allows you to estimate the money obtained from any YouTube video. Calculations are entirely based on the number of views and an average CPM of $2 - $5. A user just needs to insert the total number of video views that they think they can get or that another channel has to discover how much a person could earn or be earning.
If you don’t know your CPM yet, don’t worry because our tool can give you an estimated revenue calculation based on a commonly accepted range of CPM figures for your views. Using this number, the YouTube Money Calculator can give you potential revenue by video as well as by channel on a daily, monthly, and yearly basis. Let’s take a look:
1. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Videos
To use YouTube Money Calculator to get an estimated calculation of your revenue for a single video, simply set the number of views you get per day (or hope to get) and the CPM rates. If you don’t know your CPM, the tool will automatically select a typical range based on the number of views.
From here you can start to play around and see what the impact could be of a different number of views and different CPM range. Do keep in mind that these figures are estimated, and there are many factors that come into play to determine your final CPM rate.
If you want to go deeper into your research and discover how much revenue a specific video could make, you can simply paste in the URL of the video you want to investigate, and the YouTube Money Calculator will show you the results. These will be presented as the number of total video views as well as the estimated earnings for that video based on typical CPM rates, making it a great resource to establish whether to monetize a video or not.
2. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Channel
If you’d like a more complete view of your YouTube earnings potential, why not investigate the revenue possibilities for the whole channel? Simply paste your channel link into the box and our tool will estimate how much you could be earning if you monetize that channel.
As well as showing this, the tool will show all sorts of other useful information such as number of total views, number of subscribers, number of uploaded videos and even your country and category. It’s a great place to start to evaluate your efforts and to get a realistic idea of what your earnings could be.
Part 3: Free YouTube Money Calculator Alternatives
Some of the best YouTube Money Calculator alternatives available are:
1. How Social Blade Calculates YouTube Money
Social Blade delivers a calculation based on a CPM rate between .25 cents and $4 USD. Users need only type in the name of the channel they are interested in and Social Blade will deliver all kinds of information about that channel, like how many subscribers and views it received in the last 30 days. It will also include estimates of monthly and yearly earnings. The revenue results are adjusted based off of the overall size of the channel and the total number of views that they receive each day. You can even scroll down for estimates of daily earnings listed by date.
2. How Influencer Marketing Hub Calculates YouTube Money
Influencer Marketing Hub is almost like an active infographic that allows a user to very quickly adjust sliders based on the daily video views, active engagement, views per month, and views per year.
Part 4: How is YouTube Partner Money Calculated?
YouTube partner money is calculated using something called the CPM. Your CPM, if you’re new to YouTube and partner advertising, is likely to be quite low, but can be built up over time.
CPM is actually a term for advertisers rather than content creators, as it denotes the amount an advertiser pays to serve its ad to 1,000 views of a video. What you really want to know is your RPM, or revenue per thousand, which is about how much you’ll get paid for 1,000 views of that ad. In the YouTube world, they call this number eCPM which stands for effective CPM, and if you have access to YouTube analytics, you’ll be able to find it under the estimated monetized playbacks metric.
If you don’t have YouTube Analytics, you can estimate your eCPM by dividing your most recent earnings by the number of monetized views and then multiplying by 1,000. For example, if you got 10,000 views of a video and earned $30, then your CPM would be $3.
There are a number of factors that affect what your CPM is, including what category it’s in, what the season is (e.g. Christmas, Halloween), what language you speak, which country you’re from, how much competition there is and much more. As an average, most advertisers are paying in the region of $7.60 per 1,000 impressions, although this can be as high as $15 or as low as $0.10.
But that’s not the whole story.
Of course, YouTube needs to make money too, so don’t expect to see all of that $7.60 popped into your AdSense account. Google keeps 45 percent of all YouTube advertising revenue, so you’ll get the other 55 per cent. If you were earning that average $7.60, your actual earnings would be $4.18 per 1,000 views.
As your subscriber numbers rise and your daily views rise, so will your CPM, so don’t get disheartened if you’ve discovered you’re on $2 or worse. Keep plugging away and building your fan base, and you’ll get there in the end.
It’s important to realize that, for most new channels, they’ll need to post videos for around two years before they start earning anything significant. If you’re just getting started on YouTube, find your niche and make sure it’s one that advertisers care about. Get it right, and you’ll have a highly targeted audience base which advertisers are willing to pay good money to use.
Part 5: How to Join the YouTube Partner Platform
If you’ve had a go with the YouTube money calculator and are excited about the potential to make money from YouTube, the next thing you’ll need to do is to sign up for the partner program. Here’s how:
* **Find out if you qualify**: You'll need to be 18 or over and to have had at least 4,000 views on your channel and 1,000 subscribers in the past 12 months
* **Enable monetization on your account**: Sign in, select 'creator studio', then go to Channel > Status features. Look for the tab for Monetization and click to enable.
* **Agree to the terms**: Once you've read and agreed to them, click accept
* **Choose monetizing options**: Pick from overlay in the video, TrueView in-stream ads or video contains product placement. You can always change this later.
* **Confirm enrolment**: Click 'monetize my videos' to confirm enrolment
Once you’ve done all that, YouTube will review your application and decide if you can join the program. Usually, this happens within a matter of seconds, generating confirmation via email. Your account will now have ‘Partner Verified’ on it, and your chosen ads will start being displayed immediately.
Part 6: Making Money on YouTube
We’ve all been seduced by the big hitters on YouTube, from PewDiePie to Lilly Singh, and have imagined that we’ll be the next YouTube millionaire. However, the reality is that 99 per cent of those on YouTube are earning peanuts for the effort they put into their channels from these advertising streams.
However, there are other ways to make money on YouTube. It makes sense not to put all your eggs in one basket, so alongside ads and growing your fanbase, we’ve come up with a number of other ways to monetize your YouTube channel and estimate how much your video can make.
Shanoon Cox
Shanoon Cox is a writer and a lover of all things video.
Follow @Shanoon Cox
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- Link: https://youtube-videos.techidaily.com/embracing-constructive-feedback-ignoring-the-rest-for-2024/
- License: This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.